HOWARD COUNTY VARIANCE BOARD OF ADJUSTMENTS February 15, 2023

A meeting of the Howard County Variance Board of Adjustments was convened in open and public session on the 15th day of February 2023 in the Assembly room of the Howard County Courthouse, St. Paul, Nebraska.

Chairman Janet Thomsen called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. The Open Meeting Act is posted in the rear of the room. Administrator Klinginsmith read the notice of meeting. A proof of publication is filed in the Howard County Clerk's Office.

Roll call showed 5 members present: Terry Spilinek, Janet Thomsen, Chad Donscheski, Mile Nelson, and Glen Killion. Also present was Cherri Klinginsmith, Howard County Zoning Administrator and Jennifer Ostendorf, Planning & Zoning Secretary.

The agenda and minutes were emailed to the Variance Board of Adjustment members prior to the meeting. A motion was made by Glen Killion and seconded by Chad Donscheski to approve the minutes of the November 16, 2022 meeting. The motion carried by 5-0 roll call vote.

Administrator Comments:

Administrator Klinginsmith informed the board that the NPZA meeting has been moved back to March as it was in the past. The next meeting will be March 8-10, 2023 in Kearney. She will be emailing them a link to the schedule so that the board can look it over and attend if they would like. The cost of the conference is covered by the Planning & Zoning Office, just let Cherri know if interested in attending.

Old Business:

As discussed in the previous meeting of the board of adjustments it was noted that Rose Dixson would be resigning from board due to health reasons. Administrator Klinginsmith did officially receive Rose's resignation and had helped Rose find a replacement for her position. Administrator Klinginsmith informed the board that Dave Boehle stated that he would be willing to take over Rose's seat on the board. Before Dave served as County Commissioner he served on the Planning & Zoning Board for several years so he is very familiar with how things work. Mike Nelson moved to appoint Dave Boehle to the Board of Adjustments to finish out Rose Dixson's term (1 year). Glen Killion seconded the motion. Motion was carried by a 5-0 roll call vote.

Election of officers was discussed. Terry Spilinek made a motion to leave all officers in positions they are currently. Janet Thomson – chairman Glen Killion – Vice Chairman – Mike Nelson – Secretary. Glen Killion seconded the motion. Motion was carried by a 5-0 roll call vote.

With no further discussion the meeting was adjourned at 6:16 PM.

Jennifer Ostendorf
Planning & Zoning Secretary